Middle-Grade Monthly Subscription

SKU: x27556

Middle-Grade Monthly is a subscription service for kids ages 8 to 12. Each month, our children's buyer Lauren will select a newly released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. You can pick the book up from the store or have it mailed to you. Monthly and yearly subscriptions are available.

The May 2024 pick is With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei by Justina Chen.

About With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei:

 

Award-winning author Justina Chen delivers a powerful and heartfelt novel about a young girl who accidentally discovers she has an identical twin sister. This uplifting novel about reunited adoptee sisters experiencing new family traditions, foods, and customs together is perfect for fans of Janae Marks, Kelly Yang, and Meg Medina. Dive into a nuanced portrayal of the transracial, transnational adoptee experience, including the joys and the sorrows within the wide spectrum of experiences as an adoptee.

On Dessie Mei Breedlove’s first day at a new school in the middle of her sixth-grade year, who does she see? A classmate who looks exactly like her. As in: Dessie and Donna Lee have the exact same glossy black hair. The exact same brown eyes. The exact same cheeky smile.

A secret DNA test reveals the shocking truth: Dessie and Donna are identical twins, adopted from the same orphanage in China, then separated into two different families: one white, the other Taiwanese American. The Breedloves and the Lees.

Making up for lost time, the girls throw themselves into their newfound sisterhood, relishing every similarity. Cats or dogs (dogs!). Sweet or savory (both!). Favorite band (A2Z, duh!). But the small differences between the girls soon create tension…and when crisis strikes, Dessie must figure out who she is, where she belongs, and what it truly means to be a sister.

 

 

Here are the payment options for Middle-Grade Monthly:
 

 

For a rolling subscription, with pick-up in store, a monthly fee of $20 will be charged to your card between the 1st and 3rd of each month. 

For a rolling subscription, with shipping, a monthly fee of $23 will be charged to your card between the 1st and 3rd of each month. 

For a yearly subscription (12 books total), with pick-up at the store, the one-time fee is $240. Click here to purchase a whole year with pickup at the store.

For a yearly subscription (12 books total), with shipping, the one-time fee is $276. Click here to purchase a whole year with shipping.

 

Please use the form below to purchase a rolling subscription. You will need to save your credit card to your user account for this option.

FAQ

How will the recipient be notified that books are ready for pick-up?

  • Please include a phone number for the parents or guardians so we can let them know when the book is available. If you've chosen to ship the subscription you'll be prompted to add the address of the recipient.

 

When will the book arrive?

  • Each month, the chosen book will be set aside or mailed on its release date, which is typically a Tuesday. Release dates vary and are set by the publisher.

 

How will the books be shipped?

  • The books are shipped media mail and will arrive within 3-7 business days depending on destination. At this time, we can only ship within the US.

 

Can I request a signed copy?

  • Whenever possible we will request signed copies from the publisher. Signed copies will not be individually personalized.

 

Can I have the book wrapped?

  • Yes, you can! Please note in the comments section if you would like the book wrapped.

 

What if I need to cancel my rolling subscription?

Price: $20.00
If your answer is "no," please enter the recipient's address below.