Kali

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights: A Novel By Micah Nemerever Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062963642
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Harper Perennial - September 14th, 2021

Set in 1970s Pittsburgh, Paul - still grieving the death of his father - finds unlikely companionship with another boy at his university. But the stronger their bond becomes, their hate for the world around them grows. With beautifully written prose, this book shows how gray the line between love and obsession can be, and the lengths people will go for the object of their desire. We deserve more books with messy queer main characters!


Staff Pick Badge
We Could Be So Good: A Novel By Cat Sebastian Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063272767
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Avon - June 6th, 2023

Set in 1950s New York, a grumpy reporter and the reluctant son of a newspaper tycoon start a secret relationship. A cute friends-to-lover workplace romance for fans of Newsies. A wonderful balance of heart and wit with just enough angst to leave you teary eyed. Cat Sebastian is a titan in the romance genre.


Staff Pick Badge
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe By Benjamin Alire Sáenz Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

Full of poetic melancholy, this beautifully crafted story of youth, family, and struggling to find one's self will resonate with any queer kid who is still searching for their place in the universe. Hopeful and witty, but with an underlying sense of gloom, this book holds a special place in my heart.


Staff Pick Badge
Lost in the Beauty of Bad Weather By Christophe Jacrot Cover Image
$85.00
ISBN: 9783961714971
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Te Neues Publishing Company - September 11th, 2023

French photographer Christophe Jacrot captures the elegance and melancholy of rain, and the picturesque stillness of snowfall. Be transported from big cities to tiny island towns seeing the beauty that nature brings to the world around us. This collection makes a great gift for any lover of photography or for anyone who loves the smell of rain.


Staff Pick Badge
Gregor the Overlander (Scholastic Gold) (The Underland Chronicles #1) By Suzanne Collins Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780439678131
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - June 25th, 2013

Gregor finds himself in the underground Kingdom of Regalia, where no sun shines and purple-eyed humans ride around on giant bats. He is soon caught up in the century-long war the humans have waged on the oversized rats, all while discovering secrets about his missing dad and learning how to be the hero this strange world needs. Full of adventure and wit, for fans of The City of Ember. Amazing book <3


Staff Pick Badge
Pigs Can't Look Up: A Picture Book By Vincent D’Onofrio, Shelly Cunningham (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781951836757
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Cameron Kids - May 16th, 2023

In this delightful picture book, we follow a young girl as she sets out on a mission to share the wonder of the stars with the family pig, who has never seen them before, as she cannot look up. This tale highlights the joys of kindness and how helping others will only bring you closer together. A heartwarming tale that is sure to capture the imagination of readers of all ages!


Staff Pick Badge
The Quiet Tenant: A novel By Clémence Michallon Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593467862
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Vintage - May 7th, 2024

After five years held captive in a backyard shed, an unnamed woman must move in with her kidnapper and his 13-year-old daughter. But as he sets his sights on a new victim, she must find a way out before it's too late. This haunting, beautifully written thriller about resilience and finding strength through suffering will leave you holding on tight, waiting to see how it will end.


Staff Pick Badge
The Naturals By Jennifer Lynn Barnes Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316540629
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2023

Cassie joins a highly classified group of teens with unusual talents. Talents that they use to decode unsolved murders. Soon she's being sucked into the world of psychological profiling, all while uncovering shocking facts about her mother's disappearance. Full of suspense and a dash of romance, this book is a must-read for fans of The Inheritance Games and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder!


Staff Pick Badge
The House That Whispers By Lin Thompson Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316277112
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2023

Eleven-year-old Simon and his sisters are staying at their Grandma's century-old house for fall break, but something's amiss. Weird scratching noises, funny smells, strange shadows, and what's going on with Grandma? Simon and his sisters embark on a hunt for answers in the form of a ghost hunt. As more evidence is uncovered, old family secrets are brought to light. But Simon has a secret of his own, and it will take a lot of courage to tell everyone. This wonderfully spooky middle-grade mystery highlights the complicated relationships that LGBTQ kids sometimes have with their families and the community that can be found as a result.


Staff Pick Badge
Everybody in the Red Brick Building By Anne Wynter, Oge Mora (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Anne Wynter, Oge Mora (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062865762
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 19th, 2021

Catch a glimpse of the nightly goings on of a red brick apartment building, in this cute, sleepy story of chain reactions. With almost scrapbook-like illustrations reminiscent of childhood crafts, and plenty of sound effects just waiting to be blurted out with whimsy, this diverse picture book is a great way to end a chaotic day and get settled for bed.


Staff Pick Badge
The New Life: A Novel By Tom Crewe Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781668000847
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Scribner - January 16th, 2024

Travel back in time to 19th-century London, where two men unite to write a groundbreaking academic journal covering sexual freedom. With enthralling detail, this book shows the harsh reality of being gay in the late 1890s, while also providing the reader with glimpses of happiness, as well as hope for a better future. Based on real-life people, this is one of the most engaging historical novels I've read to date.


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Room Etiquette By Robin Roe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063051737
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: HarperTeen - October 11th, 2022

Robin Roe blew me away with her exploration of trauma, identity and friendship. Every character felt achingly real and there were just enough twists to keep me on the edge of my seat, wondering how and even if Sayers would escape. This haunting tale will stay with you long after you've read it.