Jane

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
Count the Ways: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062398277
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: William Morrow - July 13th, 2021

In Count the Ways Eleanor and Cam marry and begin to raise their family on an idyllic New Hampshire farm. Maynard follows them and their children for the next 32 years--through joys and pain, agony and peace. She describes, in sorrowful detail, the deep sacrifices parents make and the resilience of familial bonds. If you want an engrossing family story, look no further. I loved it.


Staff Pick Badge
The Cave Dwellers Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982132781
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 25th, 2021

Just when you thought Washington, D.C. couldn't be more awful, here comes The Cave Dwellers! Christina McDowell's debut novel is set among the Capital's elite old families. Behind their patrician veneer are stories of racism, adultery, social climbing, back-stabbing, and murder. In other words, all the ingredients for an absorbing read. Enjoy it!


Staff Pick Badge
Hour of the Witch: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385542432
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Doubleday - May 4th, 2021

In Boston in 1662, Mary Deerfield petitions for divorce from her abusive husband. From that unlikely beginning, Chris Bohjalian has crafted Hour of the Witch, his latest engrossing and absorbing novel. Rich in the details of colonial history, it is a compelling character study of a fierce and brave woman. The themes of injustice, betrayal, and revenge are intertwined throughout the story, and result in a book that is a pleasure to read until the very last page!


Staff Pick Badge
When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593237892
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ballantine Books - April 13th, 2021

Can Paula McLain switch from writing historical fiction to writing a complex, psychological thriller? Why yes, yes she can! When the Stars Go Dark is the story of a troubled female detective trying to solve the disappearance of a teenage girl, in the town where she herself was raised in foster care. It is rich in detail and expertly plotted. McLain weaves the detective’s personal traumas, the ongoing investigation, and a series of unsolved crimes with an evocative description of the book’s Northern California setting. This is a great page-turner - I can’t wait to see what she writes next!


Staff Pick Badge
The Vietri Project: A Novel Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780063017702
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Harper - March 23rd, 2021

Gabriele is an unhappy bookseller, undecided about both her professional and personal life. Impulsively, she decides to travel to Rome, to learn more about “Mr.Vietri”, a mysterious customer of the bookstore. As she investigates his life, Gabriele draws closer her own extended Italian family. This book combines both absorbing historical research and an interesting character study, as Gabriele slowly learns to let go of her past fears, and face her future with optimism.


Staff Pick Badge
The Smash-Up: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593229651
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Random House - February 23rd, 2021

Ali Benjamin’s debut adult novel is an interesting portrayal of a contemporary marriage and the many pressures it faces. Into the lives of her main characters, Benjamin explores many present day issues - the #MeToo movement, the place of social protests, the difficulties of childrearing, and the temptation of infidelity. Zo and Ethan each face a moral dilemma, and the book shows us their individual struggles. While there is sadness and conflict in this book, there is also hope.


Staff Pick Badge
Goodnight Beautiful: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062881922
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Harper - October 13th, 2020

A young couple moves to upstate New York where the husband opens a psychotherapy practice.  One night, he disappears…With that, Aimee Molloy writes a creepy, twisty-turny, stay up all night thriller - the perfect escape read!


Staff Pick Badge
Monogamy: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780062969668
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 4th, 2021

Sue Miller has written a fascinating story of a marriage, with its complexities, sacrifices, and betrayals.  Her characters are complex and familiar, selfish and infuriating.  As the story unfolds, you will be drawn into Annie and Graham's relationship, and the way it shapes their lives.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Impersonation Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643751443
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Algonquin Books - July 13th, 2021

In Heidi Pitlor's new novel, Allie Lang, a struggling single mother ghostwrites a memoir for a prominent female politician.  As they work together, Allie is forced by her circumstances to make difficult choices to keep her life together.  Pitlor does an excellent job of tracing Allie's journey as she learns to value herself and recognize her strengths.


Staff Pick Badge
Beheld Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635573220
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 17th, 2020

TaraShea Nesbit's new novel is a fascinating imagining of life among the Puritans in the Mayflower colony, and its first murder, narrated largely by two very different women.  Though set in the 17th century, its themes of class differences, power, and betrayal are very contemporary.  If you live in Massachusetts, read this book!


Staff Pick Badge
The Roxy Letters: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982121440
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 6th, 2021

Mary Pauline Lowry has written a sharp, witty, and funny story about our heroine! You will fall in love with Roxy as she attempts to find meaning by battling the gentrification of her beloved Austin, while simultaneously trying to reignite her love life and deal with the indignities of her low-paying job. Roxy's struggles and triumphs combine to form an engaging and humorous portrait of a young woman trying to find her way!


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Edward: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984854803
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - February 2nd, 2021

You will fall in love with Edward Adler! The only survivor of a plane crash that killed his family, Edward is forced to confront both his overwhelming sadness and the onset of adolescence. Ann Napolitano expertly weaves Edward's narrative with the stories of the other passengers on the plane. It is a beautiful and poignant portrayal of grief, coming of age, and the need for connection.


Staff Pick Badge
Nothing to See Here Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062913494
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ecco - September 1st, 2020

After fleeing her usatisfying life to help an old friend, Lillian finds herself in charge of two children who spontaneously burst into flames.  Lillian surprises herself by developing a fondness and a fierce protectiveness for her charges.  Although her new responsibilities verify her, Lillian discovers the beauty of feeling needed and of developing connections.  A perfect novel to inspire anyone searching for their place in the world!


Staff Pick Badge
The Woman in the Window: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062678423
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 5th, 2019

Can you solve a crime without leaving your home? Agoraphobic and alcoholic, Anna Fox spends her days drinking merlot, watching old movies, and spying on the neighbors. Until one day she sees -- what?  A murder? Or a hallucination? You'll zoom through the pages of this psychological thriller to find the answer!  Fans of Ruth Ware or B.A. Paris will love this book.


Staff Pick Badge
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735220690
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2018

This funny and uplifting novel is about two very different strangers who meet when they help an old man who falls in front of them -- but can they help each other?  The characters are very real and damaged, especially Eleanor, who lives a quiet and solitary life until her world is turned upside-down when she opens herself up to the possibility of love and friendship.  Eleanor is a character you will never forget.


Flight of Dreams: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101873922
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Anchor - January 10th, 2017

Ariel Lawhon's book explores the fascinating story of the final voyage and the ultimate explosion of the Hindenberg.  She speculates on the possible cause for this shocking disaster, while telling a crackling story full of spies, Nazis, class structure, and romance.  Told through the fictionalized voices of the real-life passengers on board, Lawhon's book will keep you in rapt suspense, wondering who will survive. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Burning Room (A Harry Bosch Novel #17) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781455524198
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 17th, 2015

Harry Bosch is back in Michael Connolly's newest mystery.  Harry, now working for the cold case squad, is called into action when Orlando Merced, a mariachi singer, dies ten years after a shooting.   In his quest for the killer, Harry crosses paths with the political and business establishments of Los Angeles - and connects the unsolved murder to a long ago tragedy in his new partners' life.


Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Egg (Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802122421
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Grove Press - March 11th, 2014

The latest in Donna Leon's Venetian mysteries featuring the wily Commissario Guido Brunetti. As always, Venice with its charms, corruption and character, is front and center. And the mystery is a good one also!


Staff Pick Badge
Me Before You: A Novel (Me Before You Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143124542
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Penguin Books - July 30th, 2013

Me Before You is a funny, poignant, heartbreaking story of a quadriplegic former "master of the universe" and his working class female caretaker. You will continue thinking about the characters and the ethical dilemma at the center of their relationship long after you have finished reading - and crying.


Staff Pick Badge
Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, death, and hope in a Mumbai undercity Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812979329
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - April 8th, 2014

An unflinching look at the life in the Mumbai slums. Boo uses her reporting skills to illuminate the poverty, corruption, fear and hopelessness suffered by some of the world's poorest people. This book reads like a novel, but tragically every word is true.


Staff Pick Badge
The Light Between Oceans: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781451681758
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Scribner - April 2nd, 2013

A young childless couple lives on a remote island where the husband is the lighthouse keeper. One day, a boat floats up with a dead man and a baby - alive. The choices the couple make in the wake of this discovery shatters and transforms many lives. How much should you do for the person you love, and can you live with the consequences?