ONLINE EVENT: Wendy Francis - "Best Behavior" & Laura Zigman "Separation Anxiety"

Event date: 
06/15/2020 - 7:00pm

Two great authors in one event! Wendy Francis, author of The Summer of Good Intentions, discusses her new novel, Best Behavior, which author Jamie Brenner calls "your perfect poolside read!” Laura Zigman, author of Animal Husbandry, discusses Separation Anxiety, which is a Staff Pick by our own Colleen L. 

This free online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:  

Get a head start and make sure you can join the event on time by downloading Zoom (for free) onto your computer or device right now
 

Support our independent bookstore and buy
Best Behavior and Separation Anxiety 
from Wellesley Books below! 

--------------------------------------
 

ABOUT BEST BEHAVIOR

Perfect for fans of Nancy Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand, Wendy Francis's latest is a witty, warm, and thoroughly entertaining family drama about a modern blended family in its messiness, coming together for a college graduation in Boston. As Elin Hilderbrand has raved, Wendy's books are "everything a summer read should be."

Meredith Parker works as a nurse in a neonatal hospital where she tends to the needs of drug-addicted newborns. It helps to soften the fact that her own babies, Dawn and Cody, are about to graduate college and go off on their own. Meredith is proud of her twins, but their college graduation weekend stirs up a host of emotions. She’s counting on her teddy bear of a husband, Joel, to help her through. Meanwhile, daughter Dawn worries about her “golden boy” brother, who’s been acting weird the last few weeks of school. It’s not like him to be cagey, and she can’t figure out what’s going on.

Throughout the weekend, Meredith struggles to be on her best behavior at the summery dinner parties and awards ceremonies, where she’s forced to rub elbows with her ex-husband, Roger, and his new much younger wife, Lily. Tensions simmer with each appetizer tray that is passed. There’s some question whether superstar Cody will actually graduate. And, at the final graduation party, it comes to light that more than one person in the family has been hiding a very big secret. Step-families, drugs, alcohol, graduation weekend – it’s like a human Molotov cocktail. Give it a little shake, and who knows what will happen?

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Wendy Francis is a former book editor and the author of three novels: The Summer Sail, The Summer of Good Intentions, and Three Good Things. Her essays have appeared in Good Housekeeping, The Washington Post, Yahoo Parenting, The Huffington Post, and WBUR's Cognoscenti. Born and raised in the Midwest, she now lives outside of Boston with her husband and son. 

 

 

 

 

ABOUT SEPARATION ANXIETY

“Separation Anxiety is a hilarious, heart-breaking and thought-provoking portrait of a difficult marriage, as fierce as it is funny.... My advice: Start reading and don’t stop until you get to the last page of this wise and wonderful novel."  —Alice Hoffman 

From bestselling author Laura Zigman, a hilarious novel about a wife and mother whose life is unraveling and the well-intentioned but increasingly disastrous steps she takes to course-correct her relationships, her career, and her belief in herself

Judy never intended to start wearing the dog. But when she stumbled across her son Teddy’s old baby sling during a halfhearted basement cleaning, something in her snapped. So: the dog went into the sling, Judy felt connected to another living being, and she’s repeated the process every day since.

Life hasn’t gone according to Judy’s plan. Her career as a children’s book author offered a glimpse of success before taking an embarrassing nose dive. Teddy, now a teenager, treats her with some combination of mortification and indifference. Her best friend is dying. And her husband, Gary, has become a pot-addled professional “snackologist” who she can’t afford to divorce. On top of it all, she has a painfully ironic job writing articles for a self-help website—a poor fit for someone seemingly incapable of helping herself.

Wickedly funny and surprisingly tender, Separation Anxiety offers a frank portrait of middle-aged limbo, examining the ebb and flow of life’s most important relationships. Tapping into the insecurities and anxieties that most of us keep under wraps, and with a voice that is at once gleefully irreverent and genuinely touching, Laura Zigman has crafted a new classic for anyone taking fumbling steps toward happiness. 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Laura Zigman is the author of Animal Husbandry (which was made into the movie Someone Like You, starring Hugh Jackman and Ashley Judd), Dating Big Bird, Piece of Work, and Her. She has been a contributor to the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Huffington Post, produced a popular online series of animated videos called Annoying Conversations, and was the recipient of a Yaddo residency. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts, with her husband, son, and deeply human Sheltie. 

 

 

 

Best Behavior Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781525804625
Availability: On our shelves now (can call to confirm)
Published: Graydon House - May 5th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Separation Anxiety: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062909077
Availability: On our shelves now (can call to confirm)
Published: Ecco - March 3rd, 2020

Event address: 
Online through Zoom