ONLINE: Bedtime Story with the Author: Sarah Hwang "Toasty"

Event date: 
05/21/2021 - 7:00pm

Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author/illustrator herself! Sarah Hwang reads Toasty, a deliciously funny story about a piece of bread who wants to be a dog. Perfect for fans of Arnie the Doughnut by Laurie Keller and Everyone Loves Bacon by Kelly DiPucchio.

------------------------------------------

ABOUT THE BOOK

Toasty loves dogs—so much so that he’d like to be one. He knows there are some differences—most dogs have four legs, but Toasty has two arms and two legs. Some dogs sleep in dog houses, but Toasty sleeps in a toaster. All dogs have hair and fur, but Toasty has neither because he’s made of bread. In spite of these differences, he decides to go to the park to play with the dogs but runs into trouble when they want to eat him. Lucky for Toasty, he is rescued by a little girl who has always wanted a dog but can’t have one because she is allergic. Toasty is the perfect dog for her.

Sarah Hwang’s inspiration for Toasty came from her childhood experience as an immigrant and her discovery that you find your best friends when you’re willing to just be yourself. Her playful art for Toasty came to mind when she saw a piece of toast that reminded her of the way she used to draw dogs as a child.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sarah Hwang was born in South Korea and moved to the U.S at the age of six. Moving to a foreign country at a young age, she used drawing and creating as a way of communication and expression. Sarah was inspired to become a picture book writer and illustrator after reading books that gave her comfort and made her laugh during her childhood.

She went on to receive a BFA in illustration at the Maryland Institute College of Arts. Sarah’s goal as an illustrator and writer is to bring happiness and inspire creativity in people through her works. She loves to incorporate fun and humor in everything she creates. In addition, Sarah enjoys adding faces to just about anything, like a piece of Toast. 

 

Toasty Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823447077
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - May 4th, 2021

Event address: 
Online through Zoom