IN-PERSON: Elinor Lipman - "Ms. Demeanor"

Event date: 
01/11/2023 - 7:00pm

Elinor Lipman, author of On Turpentine Lane and Good Riddance, joins us to discuss her latest book, Ms. Demeanor, a delicious and witty story about love under house arrest—perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Maria Semple, and Linda Holmes.

Your $5 ticket can be put towards a copy of Ms. Demeanor bought at the event. Alternatively, you can buy the book and receive a free ticket. Either way, buy tickets online through Eventbrite by clicking the button below (fees apply), or by phone at 781-431-1160 (no fees). 

If you don't want to attend the event but would still like to buy a copy of the book, you can do so by scrolling down and adding the book to your shopping cart. Just remember that buying the book alone is not the same as buying an admission ticket.  

-------------------------------------

COVID Protocols
• Masks are NOT required, but they are encouraged.

-------------------------------------

ABOUT THE BOOK

"Ms. Demeanor is a complete and utter delight. Of course it is. What Elinor Lipman novel isn’t?”—Richard Russo, author of Empire Falls

Jane Morgan is a valued member of her law firm—or was, until a prudish neighbor, binoculars poised, observes her having sex on the roof of her NYC apartment building Police are summoned, and a punishing judge sentences her to six months of home confinement. With Jane now jobless and rootless, trapped at home, life looks bleak. Yes, her twin sister provides support and advice, but mostly of the unwelcome kind. When a doorman lets slip that Jane isn't the only resident wearing an ankle monitor, she strikes up a friendship with fellow white-collar felon Perry Salisbury. As she tries to adapt to life within her apartment walls, she discovers she hasn’t heard the end of that tattletale neighbor—whose past isn’t as decorous as her 9-1-1 snitching would suggest. Why are police knocking on Jane’s door again? Can her house arrest have a silver lining? Can two wrongs make a right? In the hands of "an inspired alchemist who converts serious subject into humor” (New York Times Book Review)—yes, delightfully.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Elinor Lipman is the award-winning author of eleven novels, including The View from Penthouse B and The Inn at Lake Devine; one essay collection, I Can’t Complain; and Tweet Land of Liberty: Irreverent Rhymes from the Political Circus.

Born in Lowell, MA and educated at Simmons and Brandeis, she now lives in New York City.


 

Ms. Demeanor: A Novel By Elinor Lipman Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063274341
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Harper - December 27th, 2022

Good Riddance By Elinor Lipman Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780358108559
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Harper Paperbacks - February 4th, 2020

On Turpentine Lane By Elinor Lipman Cover Image
$17.39
ISBN: 9781328745583
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Harper Paperbacks - January 9th, 2018

The View From Penthouse B By Elinor Lipman Cover Image
$17.34
ISBN: 9780544228078
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Harper Paperbacks - April 8th, 2014

The Inn at Lake Devine (Vintage Contemporaries) By Elinor Lipman Cover Image
$15.95
This title is currently unavailable to order. Please check back, as stock may become available in the future.
ISBN: 9780375704857
Published: Vintage - April 27th, 1999

Event address: 
Wellesley Books
82 Central St
Wellesley, MA 02482-5714