IN-PERSON: David Levithan - "Answers in the Pages" with Sara Farizan

Event date: 
10/14/2022 - 7:00pm

Wellesley Books and OUT Metro West are happy to welcome David Levithan to discuss his latest book, Answers in the Pages. David will be in conversation with Sara Farizan, author of Dead Flip. This is a free event but we ask that you RSVP with the link below. Thanks!

-------------------------------------

COVID Protocols
• Attendees must wear masks at all times during the event.
• Attendees must present proof of COVID-19 vaccination along with a picture I.D.
• Wearing a mask is not require while shopping in the store.

-------------------------------------

ABOUT ANSWERS IN THE PAGES

A bold, timely novel about speaking up and coming out as parents lobby to ban a beloved book from the school curriculum by New York Times-bestselling author David Levithan.

When Donovan left his copy of The Adventurers on the kitchen counter, he didn't think his mom would read it—much less have a problem with it. It's just an adventure novel about two characters trying to stop an evil genius...right? 

But soon the entire town is freaking out about whether the book's main characters are gay, Donovan's mom is trying to get the book removed from the school curriculum, and Donovan is caught in the middle. 

Donovan doesn't really know if the two boys fall in love at the end or not—but he does know this: even if they do, it shouldn't matter. The book should not be banned from school. 

Interweaving three connected storylines, David Levithan delivers a bold, fun, and timely story about taking action (whether it's against book censors or deadly alligators...), being brave, and standing up for what's right.  

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Some of David Levithan's many acclaimed novels and story collections include 19 Love Songs, Every Day, Two Boys Kissing, and Boy Meets Boy. His bestselling collaborations include Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares, and The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily (written with Rachel Cohn) and Will Grayson, Will Grayson (written with John Green). David was named the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for his contribution to YA literature. You can learn more about him at davidlevithan.com and follow him on Twitter at @loversdiction.

 

ABOUT THE MODERATOR

ABOUT DEAD FLIP

This fast-paced YA horror novel perfect for fans of Stranger Things throws together two former friends when their long-missing best friend suddenly reappears—five years after his disappearance, but the same age as the day he vanished. 

Growing up, Cori, Maz, and Sam were inseparable best friends, sharing their love for Halloween, arcade games, and one another. Now it’s 1992, Sam has been missing for five years, and Cori and Maz aren’t speaking anymore. How could they be, when Cori is sure Sam is dead and Maz thinks he may have been kidnapped by a supernatural pinball machine?

These days, all Maz wants to do is party, buy CDs at Sam Goody, and run away from his past. Meanwhile, Cori is a homecoming queen, hiding her abiding love of horror movies and her queer self under the bubblegum veneer of a high school queen bee. But when Sam returns—still twelve years old while his best friends are now seventeen—Maz and Cori are thrown back together to solve the mystery of what really happened to Sam the night he went missing. Beneath the surface of that mystery lurk secrets the friends never told one another, then and now. And Sam’s is the darkest of all . . .

Award-winning author of If You Could Be Mine and Here to Stay Sara Farizan delivers edge-of-your-seat terror as well as her trademark referential humor, witty narration, and insightful characters.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sara Farizan is an Iranian American writer, avid culture vulture, and ardent basketball fan who was born in and lives near Boston. The award-winning author of If You Could Be Mine and Here to Stay, she has an MFA from Lesley University and a BA in film and media studies from American University. Dead Flip is her fourth novel.

 

 

Answers in the Pages By David Levithan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593484685
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2022

Dead Flip By Sara Farizan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781643750804
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

Event address: 
Wellesley Books
82 Central St
Wellesley, MA 02482-5714