IN-PERSON: Nicole Melleby and A.J. Sass - "Camp QUILTBAG" with Sara Farizan

Event date: 
03/28/2023 - 7:00pm

From the acclaimed authors of Hurricane Season and Ana on the Edge, an unforgettable story about the importance of and joy in finding a community, for fans of Alex Gino and Ashley Herring-Blake. The authors will be in conversation with Sara Farizan, author of Dead Flip.

Your $5 ticket can be put towards a copy of Camp QUILTBAG bought at the event. Alternatively, you can buy the book and receive a free ticket. Either way, buy tickets online through Eventbrite by clicking the button below (fees apply), or by phone at 781-431-1160 (no fees). 

If you don't want to attend the event but would still like to buy a copy of the book, you can do so by scrolling down and adding the book to your shopping cart. Just remember that buying the book alone is not the same as buying an admission ticket.  

-------------------------------------

ABOUT THE BOOK

Twelve-year-old Abigail (she/her/hers) is so excited to spend her summer at Camp QUILTBAG, an inclusive retreat for queer and trans kids. She can’t wait to find a community where she can be herself—and, she hopes, admit her crush on that one hot older actress to kids who will understand.

Thirteen-year-old Kai (e/em/eir) is not as excited. E just wants to hang out with eir best friend and eir parkour team. And e definitely does not want to think about the incident that left eir arm in a sling—the incident that also made Kai’s parents determined to send em somewhere e can feel like emself.

After a bit of a rocky start at camp, Abigail and Kai make a pact: If Kai helps Abigail make new friends, Abigail will help Kai's cabin with the all-camp competition. But as they navigate a summer full of crushes, queer identity exploration, and more, they learn what's really important. Camp QUILTBAG is a heartfelt story full of the joy that comes from being and loving yourself.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Nicole Melleby, a New Jersey native, is the author of highly praised middle-grade books, including the Lambda Literary finalist Hurricane Season and ALA Notable book How to Become a Planet. She lives with her wife and their cat, whose need for attention oddly aligns with Nicole’s writing schedule. Visit her online at nicolemelleby.com and @LadyMelleby on Twitter.

A.J. Sass (he/they) is an author, editor, and competitive figure skater who is interested in how intersections of identity, neurodiversity, and allyship can impact story narratives. He is the author of Ana on the Edge and Ellen Outside the Lines (Little, Brown), as well as a contributor to the This Is Our Rainbow: 16 Stories of Her, Him, Them, and Us anthology (Knopf). He currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his boyfriend, a handful of aquarium fish, and two cats who act like dogs. Visit him online at sassinsf.com or @matokah on Twitter and Instagram.

 

ABOUT THE MODERATOR

Sara Farizan is the author of the middle-grade graphic novel My Buddy, Killer Croc, illustrated by Nicoletta Baldari. She is also the author of several YA novels, including the award-winning If You Could Be Mine and Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel. She lives in Massachusetts. You can learn more about her and her books at sarafarizan.com.

 

Camp QUILTBAG By Nicole Melleby, A. J. Sass Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781643752662
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 21st, 2023

How to Become a Planet By Nicole Melleby Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781643752617
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 19th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Hurricane Season By Nicole Melleby Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781643750323
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 17th, 2020

Ellen Outside the Lines By A. J. Sass Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780759556270
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 22nd, 2022

Ana on the Edge By A. J. Sass Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316458627
Availability: On our shelves now.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2021

Opportunity Knocks By Sara Farizan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338827071
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Scholastic Press - February 7th, 2023

Dead Flip By Sara Farizan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781643750804
Availability: Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

Event address: 
Wellesley Books
82 Central St
Wellesley, MA 02482-5714