Colleen L.

I have very eclectic tastes in reading.  I enjoy everything from the earliest of children's books to the driest nonfiction.  That said, I'll always read a book that has to do with the English countryside, books, and a hot cuppa!

Staff Pick Badge
Here in the Real World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062698957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

In an abandoned church lot, Ware, an introverted medieval knight-in-the making, meets and befriends Jolene, a tough, street-wise realist. Together, they find refuge and purpose in building a sanctuary for themselves and the area flora and fauna. This touching story is full of real-life worries and ups-and-downs but leaves your faith in humanity intact and your heart happy.


Staff Pick Badge
The Little Bookshop on the Seine Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781335012500
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Hqn - January 7th, 2020

Fly over to Paris with Sarah Smith and enjoy the City of Lights through a newcomer's eyes. Will she get the happy ending that she craves as a reader of romance novels? Curl up, get cozy and enjoy this light read!


Staff Pick Badge
The Starless Sea: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385541213
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Doubleday - November 5th, 2019

This is an intricately woven fantasy full of magic and mystery. You will travel through many doors and sail upon a sea of golden honey, crossing through different dimensions of time, unable to stop turning the pages until you come to the very end! Highly recommended!!!


Staff Pick Badge
Secrets of the Chocolate House (Found Things #2) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250072443
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 22nd, 2019

Secrets of the Chocolate House are revealed as you journey between a quaint antique shop in present-day rural England and a 1600s chocolate house in the same community. I really enjoyed this second installment in Brackston's trilogy. This fast-paced novel is laced with history, fantasy, mystery and a sprinkle of romance. This is a delicious read that anyone can enjoy whether or not they've read The Little Shop of Found Things, its precursor. This novel is like a mug of hot chocolate with a shot of your favorite spirit, topped off with a dollop of a cliff-hanger! Now the wait for book three begins!


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316421997
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Redhook - September 10th, 2019

When you sit down to read this story you will not be able to stop! Dynamic characters, a story within a story, and an intricately woven setting will fill your senses and draw you in to many fantastical worlds. Fast-paced yet so beautifully written, I found myself slowing down to absorb every last detail. Very clever and entertaining with themes of family, loyalty and self-discovery, this is a new favorite that I suggest everyone read! 


Staff Pick Badge
Bernard Pepperlin Cover Image
By Cara Hoffman, Olga Demidova (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062865441
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: HarperCollins - September 17th, 2019

Readers will fall into Bernard's story and hang on for his whole adventure! Fans of George Selden and Cynthia Rylant will welcome this cast of little creatures into their hearts and root for the underdogs as they go up against the cruel Pork Pie Gang. (The Libro.fm audiobook is also thoroughly delightful!)


Staff Pick Badge
City of Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594634734
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Riverhead Books - June 4th, 2019

A dash of historical fiction, a pinch of coming-of-age: New York City showgirls circa 1940 lead you through riotous and raucous late-night shenanigans. It's told in letter format but reads like a memoir, and is masterfully crafted with wit and wisdom.  A great summer read--dive in!


Staff Pick Badge
Out of Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062748591
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Greenwillow Books - June 4th, 2019

This book has all the feels! It perfectly captures life in middle school-- the push and pull of growing up, the pangs of peer pressure, the courage to try new things, to be your authentic self (even if it's not the popular choice), to reach out to others, the heartbreak of separation, the comfort of forever friends. Blecher has woven a tapestry of modern day core values with societal conventions, pop culture and the contrast of island living with city dwelling around the themes of friendship and relationships. Those who love realistic fiction will devour this middle-grade read. I finished this book with "a smile that came from behind my eyes and spread across my cheeks."


Staff Pick Badge
Lessons From Lucy: The Simple Joys of an Old, Happy Dog Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501161155
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 2nd, 2019

Have you ever noticed how happy dogs are?  Dave Barry has! As he begrudgingly faced turning 70 (equivalent in human years to the age of his dog, Lucy) he decided to pay close attention to how Lucy  remains happy day in and day out. Thus came "seven lessons" from Lucy. Barry is his wonderfully witty self. I laughed out loud and loved it!
 


Staff Pick Badge
A Piglet Named Mercy Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763677534
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Candlewick - April 2nd, 2019

A Piglet Named Mercy is a PERFECT prequel to the Mercy Watson series! The Porcine Wonder popped into the lives of the Watsons, and their lives were never to be predictable ever again. A great backstory with fun illustrations (by original Mercy Watson illustrator Chris Van Dusen) that POP!


Staff Pick Badge
A Drop of Hope Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338233209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Scholastic Press - February 26th, 2019

What do a wishing well and a stolen gem have to do with each other? Writer Keith Calabrese has crafted a story of unlikely friendships that bring a downtrodden town back to life. Sixth grade students Ryan, Ernest, and Lizzy team up to solve a mystery and unexpectedly end up helping their peers and the community.  This is a great story about friendship, kindness and, most importantly, hope--and an uplifting read!


Staff Pick Badge
The Editor Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525537960
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 2nd, 2019

Imagine finding out that Jackie O. is your editor! Over multiple heart-to-hearts, the marvelous Mrs. Onassis mixes daiquiris with straightforward compassion and helps an author overcome his writer's block and family conflicts.


Staff Pick Badge
The Red Address Book Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780358108542
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Mariner Books - September 3rd, 2019

"I didn't want to die with everything in my head. The knowledge that all my memories would be lost was too painful" says our main character, Doris. At 96, her life has spanned countries and continents along with love in all of its incarnations. A red leather address book has become the map of her life.  In it she has collected all the people she has met and all the places she has been since receiving it on her tenth birthday.  Doris has decided to write her life story for her grandniece, Jenny.  Along the way Doris and Jenny both come to find you are never too old for surprises!  A lovely read


Staff Pick Badge
The Little Shop of Found Things: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250229502
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 1st, 2019

 Mystery, intrigue, travel and more than one romance makes this a pleasing page-turner! The purchase of a little antique shop in the English countryside sets this novel circa present day. A troubled ghost and rare antique trinket magically sends our protagonist back in time to the early 1600s. This first book in a new series is a fun jump between now and then. The only downside is finishing it and having to wait for book two to come out!

 


Staff Pick Badge
Max and the Midknights (Max & The Midknights #1) Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781101931080
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days (may take longer if sourced from further away)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

If you like magic, wordplay, and all-around tomfoolery then you'll love this madcap adventure from Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series!  It's 14th century style with 21st century humor!  Max and the Midknights is great fun.  And if you like a touch of drama, listen to this story performed in full as an audio book on Libro.fm.  A full cast of talented actors bring this story to life.