The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman By Denis Thériault, Liedewy Hawke (Translated by) Cover Image
By Denis Thériault, Liedewy Hawke (Translated by)
$17.39
On our shelves now.
On hand as of Aug 9 4:18pm
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Quaint and quirky, this short novel revolves around a postman who escapes his dull routine by steaming open,  and living vicariously through, the personal mail of his various patrons. One day he stumbles upon a romantic courtship conducted solely in the form of haiku poems and becomes obsessed with the correspondents.  If this all sounds creepy, it all pulls together and delivers a very satisfying conclusion.  The story has a sweetness reminiscent of The Housekeeper and the Professor or The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry with the added benefit of a crash course in advanced haiku.

— From Bill

Description


*Selected for Simon Mayo’s BBC Radio 2 Book Club*

'Quirky and charming' Guardian

For readers of The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly and The Guest Cat comes this passionate, bittersweet love story that will move readers old and young

Secretly steaming open envelopes and reading the letters inside, Bilodo has found an escape from his lonely and routine life as a postman. When one day he comes across a mysterious letter containing a single haiku, he finds himself avidly caught up in the relationship between a long-distance couple who write to each other using only beautiful poetry. He feasts on their words, vicariously living a life for which he longs. But it will only be a matter of time before his world comes crashing down around him.

About the Author


Denis Thériault is an award-winning author and screenwriter living in Montreal, Canada. The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman is his second novel and a much anticipated sequel, The Postman’s Fiancée (Oneworld) will be published in July 2017.

Praise For…


‘Its republication could – and should – establish it as a lost and found gem.’
— The Independent, UK

'Enchanting, philosophically astute and deeply poignant.'
— John Burnside

'Quirky and charming with a well-executed denouement, this novella brings to mind nothing less than a giddily-lovesick Kafka.'
— Guardian

‘A captivating philosophical tale.’
— Le Devoir, Canada

‘A love story between two people who’ve never met, thanks to the magic of a deepening correspondence. In times of internet and social networking, Thériault succeeds in offering fine and spirited promotion for letters.’
— Le Figaro, France

'...an intense and very deep meaningful ending…I would recommend this book.'
— 'A Bibliophile’s Book Blog' review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781786070531
ISBN-10: 1786070537
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 144
Language: English