Defy the Night (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Defy the Night By Brigid Kemmerer Cover Image
$18.99
On our shelves now.
On hand as of Aug 9 8:18pm
(YA/FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Count me as the newest member of the Brigid Kemmerer fan club. I would cancel plans to get back to these pages if needed. The premise of the story is simple enough: a mysterious illness is sweeping the kingdom, and the cure is unfairly distributed between wealthy citizens and the rest of the populace. Two friends, Tessa and Wes, risk their lives nightly to Robin Hood the cure into the hands of their poor neighbors. In the castle, King Harriston and his brother, the King's Justice, Prince Corrick try to balance the expectation of their consul members with a looming rebellion against systemic inequality. For me, it's the outstanding character arcs and THAT TWIST that make it juicy and delicious and compelling. The main characters are all deeply wounded by traumatic parental deaths; they cope in drastic ways, whether by cruelty, coldness, or trying to heal the kingdom's ills. The use of morally-grey protagonists and the complexity of politics vs. idealism are excellent. Wes and Tessa are delightful; Corrick and Tessa are dynamite. The slow-burn relationships, as they all learning to truly see and trust each other, are splendid. I am hooked and cannot wait for the next two installments.

— From Ashleigh

September/October 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“This is a one-sitting kind of book that has a fantastic combination of political and romantic tensions in a world with outlaws, rebels, consuls, and kings. Fantasy fans: You don’t want to miss this one!”
— Bridey Morris, R.J. Julia Booksellers, Madison, CT

Description


Instant New York Times Bestseller!

From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes an electrifying fantasy romance, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard.


A desperate prince.
A daring outlaw.
A dangerous flirtation.

In the Wilds of Kandala, apothecary apprentice Tessa Cade has been watching people suffer for too long. A mysterious sickness is ravaging the land and the cure, Moonflower Elixir, is only available for the wealthy. So every night, she defies the royal edicts and sneaks out, stealing Moonflower petals and leaving the elixir for those in need.

In the palace of Kandala, Prince Corrick serves as the King’s Justice, meting out vicious punishments and striking fear into the hearts of agitators and outlaws. Corrick knows he must play this role convincingly--with a shortage of elixir and threats of rebellion looming ever closer, the King’s grip on power is tenuous at best, and Corrick knows his brother is the kingdom’s best hope for survival.

But when an act of unspeakable cruelty brings the royal and the outlaw face to face, the natural enemies are faced with an impossible choice--and a surprising spark. Will they follow their instincts to destroy each other? Or will they save the kingdom together . . . and let that spark ignite?

About the Author


Brigid Kemmerer is the author of the New York Times bestseller Defy the Night, the New York Times bestselling Cursebreaker series, which includes A Curse So Dark and Lonely, A Heart So Fierce and Broken, and A Vow So Bold and Deadly, and Forging Silver into Stars. She has also written the contemporary young adult romances Call It What You Want, More Than We Can Tell, and Letters to the Lost, as well as paranormal young adult stories, including the Elemental series and Thicker Than Water. A full-time writer, Brigid lives in the Baltimore area with her family.
www.brigidkemmerer.com
@BrigidKemmerer

Praise For…


“Brigid Kemmerer has woven her compelling heroine into a kinetic tale of the tension between duty, love and trust.” —Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LAST HOURS

“Immersive and engaging, Defy the Night is a romantic epic that blends magic and politics with a deft hand.” —Adrienne Young, New York Times Bestselling author of FABLE

Defy the Night is a twisty, edge-of-your-seat fantasy that has it all--outlaws, court intrigue, rebellions, and romance. Addicting from page one!” —#1 New York Times best-selling author Jennifer L. Armentrout

“A captivating combination of thrilling adventure, swoon-worthy romance, and royal intrigue, Defy the Night is everything I crave in a fantasy romance.” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series

Defy the Night has everything you want in a story: a complex, dangerous world where anyone could be your enemy, a tortured hero, and my personal favorite: plenty of kissing. This book is unputdownable.” —Isabel Ibañez, author of WOVEN IN MOONLIGHT, a William C. Morris award finalist

“A high stakes fantasy with heart and originality. Kemmerer is a master of nuance and political intrigue, and readers will fall in love with her characters while they race through the pages.” —Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of SPIN THE DAWN and SO THIS IS LOVE

“A breathtaking, tender, and fiercely page-turning story, Defy the Night has left me thinking and questioning, which is the best thing any book can do.” —New York Times bestselling author, Mary E. Pearson

“The multifaceted cast of characters sparkles. . . . A foreboding twist on the tale of Robin Hood, Defy the Night is a promising series debut.” —Foreword Reviews, starred review

“The slow-burn romance-between an idealist with straightforward moral beliefs and a pragmatist trapped by duty-will keep the pages turning, as will the scheming of the king's consuls and the rebellion brewing in the background . . . . The personal and the political intertwine in this engaging series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Kemmerer employs dual narration with a deft hand. . . . a page-turning read.” —BCCB

Defy the Night hits the ground running and never slows down. . . . Brigid Kemmerer takes readers on a breakneck journey about power, deceit and the price of progress. . . . Thoughtful, multifaceted and truly character-driven, Defy the Night is ultimately a hopeful story that shows how those who dare to envision a better future also have the power to make it a reality.” —BookPage

Product Details
ISBN: 9781547604661
ISBN-10: 1547604662
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 496
Language: English