First Lie Wins: Reese's Book Club Pick (A Novel) (Hardcover)

First Lie Wins: Reese's Book Club Pick (A Novel) By Ashley Elston Cover Image
$28.00
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 27 9:27pm
(HARD COVER FICTION)

Description


REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK | #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“This fast-paced read has everything you could want in a thriller: secret identities, a mysterious boss and a cat & mouse game that kept me guessing the whole way through.”—Reese Witherspoon

Evie Porter has everything a nice, Southern girl could want: a perfect, doting boyfriend, a house with a white picket fence and a garden, a fancy group of friends. The only catch: Evie Porter doesn’t exist.


The identity comes first: Evie Porter. Once she’s given a name and location by her mysterious boss Mr. Smith, she learns everything there is to know about the town and the people in it. Then the mark: Ryan Sumner. The last piece of the puzzle is the job.

Evie isn’t privy to Mr. Smith’s real identity, but she knows this job will be different. Ryan has gotten under her skin, and she’s starting to envision a different sort of life for herself. But Evie can’t make any mistakes--especially after what happened last time.

Because the one thing she’s worked her entire life to keep clean, the one identity she could always go back to—her real identity—just walked right into this town. Evie Porter must stay one step ahead of her past while making sure there’s still a future in front of her. The stakes couldn't be higher--but then, Evie has always liked a challenge...

About the Author


Ashley Elston worked for many years as a wedding photographer before turning her hand to writing. She lives in Louisiana with her husband and three sons. Elston has written six young adult novels; First Lie Wins is her adult debut.

Praise For…


Praise for First Lie Wins:

“This fast-paced read has everything you could want in a thriller: secret identities, a mysterious boss and a cat & mouse game that kept me guessing the whole way through.”
Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club January ’24 Pick)

“The cleverly crafted plot and whip-smart protagonist mean you won’t know who to trust in this edge-of-your-seat thriller. . . Riveting.”
Reader's Digest

“Elston raises the stakes.”
—The New York Times

“You’re in for a thrill ride of twists in this fast-paced novel that kept me on my toes from start to finish.”
New York Post

“First Lie Wins delivers a fun and unpredictable suspense ride that keeps the guessing going until the end.”
Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“Ashley Elston handles a highly complicated plot with the assurance of someone who has been writing psychological suspense all her life. . . No wonder Reese Witherspoon has made First Lie Wins her book club choice for this month.”
Sunday Times (London)

“One of the best thrillers I’ve ever read. . . Amazing.”
Jesse Watters

“Riveting!”
Lucy Foley, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Apartment 

"Buckle up. First Lie Wins features some of the best cat and mouse suspense I've read in years, while serving up plenty of heart along this wild ride. I'm still breathless."
—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Step Too Far

“What a box of tricks! First Lie Wins flickers past like a shadow-play: just when you think you've worked out what you're seeing, the shapes shift, the scene transforms, and -- hold on -- maybe you had it wrong a moment ago? Cool and clever and full-on fun, the sort of slippery high-stakes now-you-see-me-now-you-don't thriller that few novelists are bold enough to attempt these days. Pick it up, please. This is a good one."
—A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window and End of Story


First Lie Wins is a high-stakes thriller that brilliantly explores identity and love, truth and deception. Smart and sharp, fast-paced and twisty, this book kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page to the very last. Ashley Elston has crafted a truly unpredictable, unforgettable story. I loved it!”
—Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Survivors

“Wildly inventive, diabolically clever....Filled with meticulously plotted details and stakes that will wholly consume you, Ashley Elston also delivers one of the most likeable, morally gray characters I've ever encountered. I devoured First Lie Wins and am now an Ashley Elston fan for life.”
—Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Lies I Tell

“First Lie Wins is the most suspenseful game of deception I've ever read…. Ashley Elston peeled back layer upon layer of a carefully crafted plot, revealing a series of twists and reveals I never saw coming. Brilliant!”
—Elle Cosimano, New York Times bestselling author of Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

"You don't know who to trust in this taut and expertly plotted thriller from Ashley Elston. First Lie Wins is an edge-of-your-seat read that's as emotionally moving as it is gripping. I loved every minute of it!"
—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing

"A suspenseful and taut page-turner that is impossible to put down! First Lie Wins captivated me with its twisty premise and left me spellbound by the memory of its richly-drawn characters."
Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of Malice House

"Who is the cat and who is the mouse? It’s hard to tell when even the bad guys are so likable that you can’t help but root for them. Clever, twisty, and suspenseful, First Lie Wins kept me on my toes right up to the satisfying conclusion."
—Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of The Last House on the Street

"Sharp, engaging, and unputdownable. Elston executes hair-pin turns masterfully, leaving readers gasping in surprise but firmly in their seats and ready for more. A smart suspense with romantic elements that keeps the thrills coming and the reader thinking of the story long after the book is done."
—Alyssa Cole, New York Times bestselling author of When No One is Watching

"Outstanding! The deeply woven characters in First Lie Wins pulled me in from the first page, then took me on a spellbinding ride. Ashley Elston has crafted an ingenious, unforgettable cat and mouse thriller!"
—Wendy Walker, bestselling author of What Remains

"A whip-smart, twisty thriller with a surprisingly big heart. First Lie Wins is the type of book that begs to be read in one sitting.”
—Kara Thomas, author of Out of the Ashes

“Prepare to trust no one on this high-speed thrill ride through timelines, identities, and motives as you work to piece together Elston's expertly crafted puzzle. First Lie Wins is a fun, clever spin on the con artist novel, perfect for fans of The Lies I Tell and The Lady Upstairs.”
—Ashley Winstead, author of Midnight is the Darkest Hour

"Ingeniously plotted. . . Elston whips up plenty of suspense and delivers a satisfyingly serpentine finale. This promises more good things from Elston to come."
Publishers Weekly

"A savvy thriller with intrigue and momentum. . . from the first twist of Lucca’s arrival right up until the final showdowns. Evie is a smart and engaging protagonist, and her time on the run is anything but predictable."
Kirkus

"I really enjoyed this – very unexpected and pacy with a brilliant central character." 
Harriet Tyce, bestselling author of Blood Orange and The Lies You Told

"Absolutely brilliant. I devoured it." 
Heidi Perks, bestselling author of The Whispers

"An absolute CRACKER of a bookclever, original and compelling."
Rachel Abbott, bestselling author of Don't Look Away
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593492918
ISBN-10: 0593492919
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English