Normal Rules Don't Apply: Stories (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Normal Rules Don't Apply: Stories By Kate Atkinson Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jun 24 1:05pm

Staff Reviews

A brilliant collection of interconnected short stories from one of my favorite authors. Some are a little odd and a few are quirky-sad-disturbing, but, taken as a whole, these 11 stories are amazing. You must try this if you like Kate Atkinson's novels. You must try it even if you don't read short stories! The plots are inventive, characters are interesting and the connections are fantastic.

— From Lorna


A collection of eleven interconnected stories from the bestselling, award-winning author of Shrines of Gaiety and Life After Life, “Stunning...A master class in literary worldbuilding… Full of speculative glee, but tinged with poignancy." (Publishers Weekly)

Nothing is quite as it seems in this collection of eleven dazzling stories. We meet a queen who makes a bargain she cannot keep; a secretary who watches over the life she has just left; a man who bets on a horse that may—or may not—have spoken to him. Everything that readers love about the novels of Kate Atkinson is here—the inventiveness, the verbal felicity, the sharp observations on human nature, and the deeply satisfying emotional wallop. 

A startling and funny feast for the imagination, these stories conjure a multiverse of subtly connected worlds while illuminating the webs of chance and connection among us all.

About the Author

KATE ATKINSON won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her 2013 novel Life After Life was shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction and voted Book of the Year for the independent booksellers associations on both sides of the Atlantic. It also won the Costa Novel Award, as did her subsequent novel, A God in Ruins (2015), and was adapted into a critically acclaimed television series in 2022. Her bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. She has written twelve groundbreaking, bestselling books and lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593469880
ISBN-10: 0593469887
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English