The Bone Houses (Paperback)

The Bone Houses By Emily Lloyd-Jones Cover Image
$11.99
Usually ships to store in 4-6 days.

Winter 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List


“I immediately fell into the world Emily Lloyd-Jones created, and then I barely came up for air! This is the most original, mythical-magical, undead story I have ever read. I mean, there’s a dead goat — and you’re gonna fall in love with her. The feisty, axe-swinging gravedigger’s daughter found a place in my heart, too. The imagination and wit astound me.”
— Alena Deerwater, Gallery Bookshop & Bookwinkle's Children's Books, Mendocino, CA

Description


Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab!   Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.   The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?   Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about thems